June 1-30 Challenge

Day 20 Twenty Minutes

June 20, 1963. The United States and Soviet Union signed an agreement to set up a hot line communication link between the two countries.

If you could have a hot line to any person, dead or alive, who would it be? Who would you want to chat with if you only had twenty minutes on the hot line?

What would you tell them?

My English Teacher

I thought long and hard about this days challenge. The usual suspects come to mind; my dad who died 10 years ago next year, or my mother who’s still alive and well and living in the depths of Wales.

But, I have chosen my English teacher from High School (or comprehensive school as it was known to us). Her name was (and still is) Mrs (Betty ) Morris. She was very small and

Macbeth
Macbeth by William Shakspeare http://www.pinterest.com

delicate looking, but when she spoke about Macbeth or Richard 111 she took on a new persona that was that character! I used to love watching her stride around the classroom, quoting poetry (Keats and Wordsworth) or becoming one of the characters in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales (the woman with the red stockings was a particular favorite).

So, if I had a twenty minute hotline with her, we could discuss the ins and outs of a favorite Shakespearean play, and I could tell her that it was because of her that I love English so much.

She inspired me to read, read and read more, which led to a love of story telling and writing. 🙂

