June 1-30 Challenge

Day 9 Go the Whole Nine Yards

June 9, 1834. William Carey died. He is considered the Father of Modern Missions. He spent forty-one years as a Christian missionary to India without ever taking a furlough. Being a missionary in China in the early nineteenth century was not easy!

To go the whole nine yards means “to continue doing something dangerous or difficult until it is finished”. William Carey went the whole nine yards.

When have you gone the whole nine yards? Write about it.

Or write a story of someone in a dangerous or difficult situation and how they go the whole nine yards.

 Egg and spoon race.

When my son was seven years old, he was entered into an egg and spoon race at his primary school. Normally, my hubby took part in all the sporting events at the children’s school, whilst I would sit on the sidelines with a picnic and lots of encouragement.My hubby relished the once a year events as it gave him the chance to compete against the other dads and swap bruises/stories/ generally brag about how good they were!

This particular year was somewhat different. My hubby managed to pull a crucial ligament in his knee in a ‘friendly’ footy match one cold and wet Sunday morning. I had chosen not to stand in the sidelines that day, so heard about it via a phone call that he was in the hospital. He had surgery within weeks, and was on crutches (and off work) for several months afterwards.

Needless to say, he was unable to take part in Liam’s school sports day. It was left up to, yes, you’ve guessed it….ME!

The egg and spoon race involves carrying an egg on a spoon, and racing to a finishing post. I started off well, my egg stayed put, until another mum came too close to me (not sure if it was deliberate, these school activities can be brutal!), and the egg fell off the spoon. Nevertheless I persevered, and quickly put it back in its place and ran (I use this term loosely) as quickly as possible…and came third!!

My son was thrilled, and my hubby was hoarse with shouting from the sidelines.

I went the Whole Nine Yards, and was not a complete failure….and we still talk about that day. 🙂

*

 

