I loved Literature and History the most at school. I went on to study both subjects over 25 years later and got my enthusiasm and love back, as well as a BA degree.
History teacher – Mrs Warlow
English teacher – Mrs Morris (Betty)
Both these teachers stand out in my mind as being the most inspirational. It has been over 30 years since I was taught by either of them (History – lower high school; English – upper high school)
Both gave me a love of History and English. I can remember the History teacher standing in front of the classroom saying …”Imagine you are a Roman Centurion, who has been assigned the role of guarding Hadrian’s Wall to keep out the barbaric Celts (Scots) out. Write about your life – what did you eat? What did you wear? What shifts did you do? What weapons did you use? What were your barracks like? Write a 1,000 word essay on that by next week. Class dismiss.”
The English teacher instilled in me a love of Shakespeare. I can still see her standing in front of the class shaking her fist as she describes the battle at the end of Macbeth. She took us to see the film version at the cinema in Swansea (Jon Finch was Macbeth). How I loved it! And the Canterbury Tales…don’t get me started 

